Shop » The Hate U Give

A Teacher’s Guide for Grades 9-12:

The Hate U Give

This novel tells the story of Starr Carter–a brave, intelligent, and resilient young woman who witnesses her best friend’s death at the hands of a police officer. This book traces Starr’s story, and it is also reflects a national conversation about state-sanctioned violence and the Black Lives Matter movement. We chose this book for its careful exploration of powerful social and emotional themes: oppression, injustice, racism, activism, voice, resilience, and community. This curriculum will inspire students to build connections between Starr’s story and their own experiences with injustice.

The Hate U Give tells the story of Starr Carter–both during the moment when her best friend Khalil is killed by a police officer, and during the challenging experiences that follow. After witnessing Khalil’s murder, Starr has important decisions to make about speaking out and sharing her story with her family, her community, and the nation. As Starr deals with talking to police officers and the district attorney, she must also navigate the challenges of existing in two worlds–her working-class neighborhood and the world of privilege she witnesses at school. She decides not to tell any of her friends about witnessing Khalil’s murder, causing a fracturing in her relationships. As Starr manages her grief over the murder of her friend and the violence and fear her community faces, she comes into her own as a budding activist who uses her voice to speak out against injustice.

Author:  Angie Thomas

Our Reading with Relevance teacher’s guide breaks the novel into a series of thoughtful lesson plans. Each lesson is designed to support you to meaningfully explore the social and emotional themes of the day’s reading with your students, inspiring them to read deeply, think critically, talk openly, and write reflectively about topics that matter.

This teacher’s guide includes:

  • A facilitator’s guide with tips and resources for implementing the curriculum.
  • A map of Common Core Standards addressed through this program.
  • Fifteen individual lesson plans, including vocabulary, discussion questions, journal prompts, extension activities, and all handouts.
  • Two assessments to monitor student progress throughout the program.
  • Regular checkpoints to help teachers assess their students’ progress on ELA standards.
  • A culminating essay-writing unit.
  • An appendix with additional teaching resources and activities to continue exploring this novel.

Pages: 100
Dimensions: 8.5” x 11”



Go to Top